The Royal Family

This Is the New Order of Succession for the British Throne After Queen's Death

Prince William and his children make up the first four in the line of succession

NBCUniversal Media, LLC

After the death of Queen Elizabeth II on Thursday, her son Charles immediately became Britain’s new king. Now, King Charles III's sons and grandchildren are next in succession for the monarchy.

Here is the new hierarchy, with the first 10 people in order of succession:

The 10 British Royals Now in Line for the Throne

Photo credits: Getty Images. Photo of Lilibet Mountbatten-Windsor by Misan Harriman. Source: The Royal Household/Crown.
Amy O’Kruk/NBC

1. Prince William, the elder son of Charles and the late Princess Diana. He is married to Kate, the Princess of Wales. Their three children follow him in the line of succession.

2. Prince George of Cambridge, born in July 2013.

3. Princess Charlotte of Cambridge, born in May 2015.

4. Prince Louis of Cambridge, born in April 2018.

5. Prince Harry, the younger son of Charles and Diana.

6. Prince Archie Mountbatten-Windsor, born to Harry and Meghan, Duchess of Sussex, in May 2019.

7. Princess Lilibet Mountbatten-Windsor, born in June 2021.

8. Prince Andrew, Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip’s second-eldest son.

9. Princess Beatrice, elder daughter of Andrew and his former wife, Sarah Ferguson.

10. Sienna Elizabeth, daughter of Beatrice and Edoardo Mapelli Mozzi, born in September 2021.

At the age of 25, the former Princess Elizabeth took the throne as Queen Elizabeth II, where she would reign for 70 years, making her the longest-serving monarch the UK has ever seen. LX News Storyteller Jalyn Henderson takes a look back at the late queen’s life.
Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us