New England

Randy Moss to Be Inducted Into Hall of Fame

Former New England Patriots wide receiver and 1999 Pro Bowl MVP Randy Moss is among the 2018 inductees to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The 1998 first round draft pick is one of eight new members who will enter the Hall of Fame this year. He was elected on his first try.

Hard-hitting linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher have also made the Hall on their first try. Receiver Terrell Owens and safety Brian Dawkins were also selected by the 47 Hall of Fame voters.

Rounding out the Class of 2018 are contributor Bobby Beathard and senior nominees Jerry Kramer and Robert Brazile.

Moss burst on the scene as a rookie in Minnesota in 1998 when he caught a league-leading 17 TD catches and helped lead the Vikings to the NFC title game. His combination of speed and athleticism made him the game's most dangerous big-play threat and led to the phrase "You got Mossed" for embarrassed defensive backs.

He led the NFL in TD catches five times, including his record 23 for New England in 2007, and earned four All-Pro selections. He finished his career with 982 catches for 15,292 yards and ranks second all-time with 156 TD receptions.

Former Patriots cornerback Ty Law was not elected to the Hall of Fame, but made it to the final 10 in his second time on the ballot.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us