John

Papa John’s Warns Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Might Contain Gluten

70872634
Getty Images

Papa John's added gluten-free pizza to the menu, but those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance shouldn't order it, CNBC reported.

The pizza chain on Monday said the new crust contains sorghum, teff, amaranth and quinoa and is made in a separate facility before being shipped to stores nationwide.

But Papa John's doesn't recommend that diners with celiac disease or a serious gluten intolerance purchase it. It is possible that the gluten-free crust could come into contact with gluten in its restaurants, the company warned.

"Although Papa John's Ancient Grains Gluten-Free Crust is gluten-free and Papa John's employs procedures to prevent contact with gluten, it is possible that a pizza with Papa John's Ancient Grains Gluten-Free Crust is exposed to gluten during the ordinary preparation process," the company told CNBC.

Read More

Contact Us