Mass. to Require Quarantine for Travelers From NY, Washington State and DC

The move, which is effective Saturday, leaves just four states on Massachusetts' list of lower-risk places for travel

NBC Universal, Inc.

Massachusetts is removing two states and Washington, D.C., from its low-risk travel list.

Starting Saturday, Massachusetts will start requiring that people arriving in the state from New York and Washington State, as well as the nation's capitol, stay in quarantine, the Department of Public Health announced Friday.

Under Massachusetts' travel order, state health officials will begin considering the states and district a higher risk for travel starting at 12:01 a.m. on Nov. 14.

Two weeks ago, Connecticut and New Jersey were taken off Massachusetts' list of low-risk states for travel, days after they'd done the same for Massachusetts. Last week, California was also removed.

Massachusetts' full list of states deemed to be low risk as of Saturday now includes just four states: Hawaii, Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont.

To be included on Massachusetts' list of low-risk states for travel, one must have fewer than 10 average daily cases per 100,000 people.

Travelers from states not on the low-risk list must fill out the Massachusetts Travel Form and quarantine for 14 days, according to the state's guidelines. That includes anyone who's coming from one of the low-risk states but stayed "for more than a transitory period of time in the last 14 days" in a higher-risk state.

There are some exemptions, including for people who are going to higher-risk states just to commute or go to school. See the full order, which includes exemptions, here.

Contact Us